I Published My First Book Before Getting My Bachelor’s Degree

And I regret it.

Sinem Günel
6 min readJan 8, 2020

--

In 2015, I started my studies in business administration.

And even though I don’t feel as if I learned anything that would improve my life or me personally, I still believe that it was the right decision. However, 1.5 years later, I tapped into personal development and entrepreneurship, and I quickly realized that there is so much more to learn than what schools and universities are teaching.

I also realized that I enjoy growing as a person and learning more about personal development every day.

Additionally, I discovered a wholly new career path.

While until that time, I thought that I’d get my degree to apply for a corporate job, I suddenly realized that there are so many more options to choose from.

I loved the idea of being self-employed. I mean, being your own boss, deciding when, where, and with whom you work sounds pretty amazing, right?

So at some point, I knew that I don’t want to climb the career ladder in a corporate but rather be an entrepreneur. Putting both of these passions together, I started hosting personal development workshops besides my studies.

--

--