5 Mental Shifts That Helped Me Build a 6-Figure Online Business in My 20s

Here’s what nobody tells you about entrepreneurship.

Sinem Günel
8 min readNov 13, 2020

--

I decided to become an entrepreneur when I was 19 years old. I didn’t have a groundbreaking idea and no clue how I’d make money, but I knew that I didn’t want to pursue a traditional corporate career after my studies.

All I knew is that I wanted to be independent — financially, locally, and mentally. I wanted to work whenever, wherever I want and be able to choose the projects I work on.

Today, four years later, I’m in that fortunate place where I’m living that reality: I built a 6-figure online business with my better half, work on projects that excite me, and experience the freedom I dreamt of.

But whenever I tell my story, a huge part is missing because most people only see the tip of the iceberg. They see my current numbers, the current reality, and the freedom I experience right now.

But what they don’t see is that I spent almost three years trying to figure out what I actually want to do. And they also don’t see that I had to make many mental shifts in order to go from frustrated wannabe entrepreneur to 6-figure business owner.

--

--